top of page

Grief – we all experience it…

Updated: Aug 18, 2021

Well where do I begin with grief, firstly all of us experience it in so many ways.

  1. Loss of a loved one

  2. Loss of a relationship

  3. Loss of career

  4. Loss of friendships

  5. Loss of income

  6. Loss of clients

  7. Loss of “physical things”

  8. Loss of something, whatever that thing is for you…

As I write this I come from a place where I have experience all the above at some time or another during my journey.

The loss of a loved one was something experienced at the young age of 13, where this was so hard and challenging to deal with. Emotions which I have only been able to look at within the last 5 years, at the same time giving up a career which I loved but I knew was not serving me or making me happy. So, what I share with you now is what I have learnt along this journey.

We all experience some form of grief along our journey, your emotion what you feel and it belongs to you, it is what you feel and allow it to be felt regardless of you are told. I feel and know we experience grief in so many ways and no one person deals with it in the same way.

I share with you some steps that can help you with your grief……

  1. Overcoming grief is having the right perspective on it. First, we recognize that grief is a natural response to pain and loss.

  2. Talking about your emotions is not the only way to face them but what will free you up and allows you to heal.

  3. Grief serves a purpose, it connects your heart and mind. It can refresh our perspective on life and what we can do moving forward.

  4. Remember that feelings of grief are temporary. There is an end to mourning. Grief has its purpose, but it also has its limit. Sadly, grief is part of the human experience. Loss is part of life, and grief is a natural response to loss.

  5. Replace the grief feelings with L O V E from what would fill your heart and soul.

  6. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23       

  7. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. 1 John 4:18-19

  8. Recognise, reflect and write down the emotions you are feeling…. angry, sadness, relief, happy, joyful, peaceful, whatever yours are?

  9. Follow up how do you want to feel after you have allowed the emotions to sit with you

  10.  How long do you want it to sit with you for?

  11. What steps will you take to move forward in a way that is right for you?

  12. What will you do to help yourself?

  13. If this feels too much, be patient with yourself /

  14. What choices to do you have moving forward?

  15. You can do this…..

  16. Hold onto the memories and the good memories from before grief

  17. Allow yourself to think about them

  18. Share the good feelings and memories

  19. Talk about them with people around you

  20. Find new JOY in your life (not to the replace the grief), but to allow you to feel Joy in difference ways. Simplicity really helps with this – how could you add more Joy into your life. Some of mine are cuddling and walking my gorgeous dog Kissa, picking flowers in nature and plenty more. What will yours be

  21. Be patient with where you are right now, it's ok to take time to rest, heal, move forward.

  22. Remember everyone will deal with their grief in their own ways and to respect and love them either way.

  23. Experience new adventures day by day…..

I am always encouraged by this scripture:

A Time for Everything Ecclesiastes 3

3 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens:

2 a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, 3 a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, 4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, 5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, 6 a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, 7 a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, 8 a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.

This is all part of the healing process, which starts to allow faith and hope along this journey. Change is gradual and healing is a process.

Thank you for taking the time read, reach out if you need someone to speak to, you can access my diary here

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page